anything
1-800-401-2474 | support@airnavsystems.com
Forum| About| Support| Contact
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 


Author Topic: Changing over from SBS  (Read 5831 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

abrad41

  • Guest
Changing over from SBS
« on: May 22, 2008, 06:25:40 PM »
Hello to you all

I am new to this site, so forgive me if ask some silly questions.

I am a SBS1 user and would like some info on changing over to use the radbox system.

Could I use my antenna I have now, which is the BS1100 on a 10ft Pole above the house.

Please help

Andy  Norfolk

AirNav Support

  • AirNav Systems
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4111
Re: Changing over from SBS
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2008, 06:36:12 PM »
Yes you need a SMA-BNC convertor to get it connected to the RadarBox. They are cheap about £5.
Contact Customer/Technical support via:
http://www.airnavsystems.com/contact.html
support@airnavsystems.com

Allocator

  • RadarBox24.com Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
Re: Changing over from SBS
« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2008, 06:53:20 PM »
Hi Andy,

Welcome to the forum :-)

I use the BS1100 as I got this when I was using the SBS-1.  It works a treat with RadarBox with the adaptor mentioned.  There is a thread about this and I'll post the link when I find it.

Allocator

Edit:

Here's the link:

http://www.airnavsystems.com/forum/index.php?topic=634.0

By the way, there are no silly questions so ask away!  See the FAQ section for lots of good information:

http://www.airnavsystems.com/forum/index.php?board=2.0
« Last Edit: May 22, 2008, 06:56:22 PM by Allocator »

abrad41

  • Guest
Re: Changing over from SBS
« Reply #3 on: May 22, 2008, 07:05:22 PM »
Thank you very much for your advice, I am very fed up with the backup you get from Kinetic or ML&S. I have been waiting for this new Ethernet Module - Its well late and there is no comunication.

Could I have some comments on the radar box and is it better than the SBS1

Thank you

Andy

AirNav Support

  • AirNav Systems
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4111
Re: Changing over from SBS
« Reply #4 on: May 22, 2008, 07:08:46 PM »
"I am very fed up with the backup you get from Kinetic or ML&S"

I assume you mean you are fedup with them not us :) Of course RadarBox is better, have a look at the comparison:

http://www.airnavsystems.com/download/anrb/AirNav%20RadarBox%20vs%20Competition.pdf
Contact Customer/Technical support via:
http://www.airnavsystems.com/contact.html
support@airnavsystems.com

abrad41

  • Guest
Re: Changing over from SBS
« Reply #5 on: May 22, 2008, 07:13:17 PM »
yes I am very fedup with them not you, just would like to now a lot more about radarbox and make sure i am not jumpping out of the frying pan, But i am very very interested in changing if the only thing I have got to get is a adapter.

Andy

Allocator

  • RadarBox24.com Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
Re: Changing over from SBS
« Reply #6 on: May 22, 2008, 07:14:18 PM »
Andy,

Of course it's better!

Works right out of the box, no mucking around adding dozens of 3rd party add-ons to get a decent picture then there is the Network - fantastic.

Just read through those FAQ's for all the good info.  I was an SBS-1 user for a year until I got my RadarBox, now the SBS-1 just sits in the corner gathering dust.

abrad41

  • Guest
Re: Changing over from SBS
« Reply #7 on: May 22, 2008, 07:22:17 PM »
thanks mate

Andy

abrad41

  • Guest
Re: Changing over from SBS
« Reply #8 on: May 23, 2008, 07:22:41 AM »
Could I please ask some questions.

1) My sbs1 is in my loft - could I still use my USB extender from the loft to computer down stairs.

2) Can I use radarbox over a home network and use on more than one computer.

3) If I was at a differant location in the world - could I look at my data (Radarbox) over the internet.

Thanks for the help

Andy

Allocator

  • RadarBox24.com Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
Re: Changing over from SBS
« Reply #9 on: May 23, 2008, 07:36:03 AM »
Could I please ask some questions.

1) My sbs1 is in my loft - could I still use my USB extender from the loft to computer down stairs.

Andy, I use a USB extender - the type that has standard CAT 5 network cable giving you up to 45 m extension - with no problem at all.  The advantage of RadarBox is that its powered wia the USB lead, whereas some SBS-1 units require a seperate power supply.

Quote
2) Can I use radarbox over a home network and use on more than one computer.

In a word - no.  The RadarBox receiver must be connected to the computer that is running the RadarBox software.  This also applies for you to receive AirNav Network data.  RadarBox isn't a network device, hence the need for direct USB connection.  I modified my SBS-1 with the Ethernet module mod that came out about 8 months ago.  It worked very well as I could access the SBS-1 wirelessly on my network, however, I didn't really use this facility very often.

You can use Radarbox on as many computers as you like, but you will only see aircraft when the Radarbox hardware is plugged into that computer.

You can run the RadarBox software without the hardware to view recordings though.  You could download RadarBox V1.5 now and visit the RadarBox Utilities website and download recordings to play back.  This will give you a good idea of what you will see.

You can download the RadarBox V1.5 software from here:

http://www.airnavsystems.com/RadarBox/support.html

And the recordings (2) are available here:

http://www.airnavutilities.co.uk/

Quote
3) If I was at a differant location in the world - could I look at my data (Radarbox) over the internet.

Again, no.  However, as RadarBox is so portable, it's easy to take it with you to view live data picked up by the RadarBox receiver and antenna.  If you have internet access, say in a hotel, then you will be able to see the Network data so you'll probably be able to see your home area anyway.

I'm sure you could use one of the various remote access software programs to look at your computer screen from a remote location, but I haven't tried this.  I just take Radarbox and the laptop with me when I go away.

I hope that this helps.

Allocator
« Last Edit: May 23, 2008, 07:47:12 AM by Allocator »