anything
1-800-401-2474 | support@airnavsystems.com
Forum| About| Support| Contact
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 


Author Topic: Flight data lost (to from airports)  (Read 1989 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

73TORANA!

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 42
Flight data lost (to from airports)
« on: July 28, 2015, 09:35:29 AM »
Hi all I seem to have lost the to from airport flight data on the screen and on the info window bottom left. This is a screen a shot I had on file from some time ago using an old version showing flight airport details but it does not appear anymore. Any ideas.
« Last Edit: July 28, 2015, 09:37:38 AM by 73TORANA! »

Runway 31

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 27144
Re: Flight data lost (to from airports)
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2015, 10:26:51 AM »
73Torana!

You don't have any route details showing, is that correct and has it just started to happen?

Also I note that you are using an old version of RB, have you not considered updating to V5.00.72 as I believe some or most of your problem is that the database is well out of date.

Alan

« Last Edit: July 28, 2015, 10:31:54 AM by Runway 31 »

73TORANA!

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 42
Re: Flight data lost (to from airports)
« Reply #2 on: July 28, 2015, 10:55:34 AM »
Runway 31, It must have happened after I updated to 5.00.072 and I have only just noticed it and I last updated the data base about 2 months ago. Yes the screen shot is of an older version I had on file and is for reference only. Does the computer need to be connected to the net. It is at a remote location with no I.net.
Cheers, Geoff. 

Runway 31

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 27144
Re: Flight data lost (to from airports)
« Reply #3 on: July 28, 2015, 11:06:47 AM »
Geoff,

I would have expected to get some route information but to get none I don't know why this would be.  Being on the internet helps as the software checks back to if it doesn't have route info to see if it is available but you should still get most route info showing if you are not and have a recent database update.

Can you confirm that you upgraded the original version and it is installed in program files.  Can you advise the number of aircraft in the routes table of database explorer please.

Alan

73TORANA!

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 42
Re: Flight data lost (to from airports)
« Reply #4 on: July 31, 2015, 07:29:44 AM »
Thanks Alan,
I updated original version that was in program file and this one went in the same spot. Win XP SP2
I bought the computer home and let it run over night on the net and this morning route data was back.
I thought airnav program would decode all info direct from received data, is this how it works? or does it get some info from the data base?.
I didnt count the routes table but it must be a few hundred.
So I guess the received data is only a hex code? and the airnav database matches the code with aircraft reg and other information.?
Thx for your help, Geoff.

Runway 31

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 27144
Re: Flight data lost (to from airports)
« Reply #5 on: July 31, 2015, 08:01:53 AM »
Geoff,

All data comes from the database whether onboard or on the server depending on myflights or network
The aircraft table this morning has 232,551 records and the routes table is showing 315,368 records.  When you carry out a database update the software downloads the server database onto your computer as a Navdata.db3 file and places it in your data folder.

If you use windows search and look for NavData.db3 you will find all instances of it.  There will be other Navdata.db3 files with other extensions but look only for this one.  You should then be able to move the correct Navdata.db3 over and replace the old one which is being used.  Don't have RB running while you do this.

The received data is a hex code and a call sign and the software matches the hex with the other aircraft details from the database and displays them on screen.  The call sign gives the route and again the software matches the call sign with the route details held in the database and matches them for display. If the details are not in the d/b, no info can be shown.

Alan
« Last Edit: July 31, 2015, 08:04:53 AM by Runway 31 »

73TORANA!

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 42
Re: Flight data lost (to from airports)
« Reply #6 on: July 31, 2015, 08:35:22 AM »
Thanks so much for the lesson Alan, I can build and fix radios no problem but the digital data side is like a magic mystery. Time to hit the books I think.
Thanks again very helpfull.
Cheers, Geoff.

 

SMF spam blocked by CleanTalk