anything
AirNav RadarBox
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: RF Amplifier failed ?  (Read 4380 times)

G0DAM

RF Amplifier failed ?
« on: May 21, 2015, 10:04:55 AM »
Ha Ha, I am not good at this game.  First try 'vanished' before complete.

ANRB 3D worked better than expected, for the first 6 days, using the Kit antenna up in 'the clear'.

When system shut down at 1900 hours GMT on day 6, 'My Flights' was showing normal activity reduction down about 30 aircraft within 100 to 110 miles of this location.

Since switch on at 1000 hours GMT on day 7, 'My Flights' registers nothing, hardware shown 'connected' but message rate is zero.  On the Box, signal LED is off and USB LED pulses at 1 second intervals.  However, ‘Network’ shows all expected overhead activity and I can physically see some of the aircraft.

RF Amplifier failed ?  No known local static or radio transmitter activity overnight.  Now know of another local case a couple of weeks ago so is this a common experience ?  Any advice will be gratefully received.

Bob

Runway 31

Re: RF Amplifier failed ?
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2015, 10:12:58 AM »
Bob,

I would suggest that you contact [email protected] for advice.

There has been problems in the past with SAW filters but that was usually early examples of the box as far as I am aware.  Have you tried unplugging and plugging in the USB lead and making sure the antenna connection is OK.

Alan

G0DAM

« Reply #2 on: May 21, 2015, 10:35:55 AM »
Thanks for that Alan

No reply from them yet.  Tried both their report form and by direct e-mail.  Other sufferer says he did not get reply either.

Tried 3 different Antennas, 3 computers (1 Win 7 others Win 8.1), 3 USB cables, my box on friends installation and his box on my installation (that worked but did not risk it for long).