anything
1-800-401-2474 | support@airnavsystems.com
Forum| About| Support| Contact
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 


Author Topic: Problems with Shiptrax Sw  (Read 13455 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

jfnleal

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Problems with Shiptrax Sw
« on: July 29, 2012, 07:49:34 pm »
Hello,

I recently bought Shiptrax. I also own (and am familiar with) Radarbox.

Shiptrax has so far been close to a nightmare. The software is buggy and very slow, and I could not manage to put it to work appropriately so far. Even though the HW lights blink, and the "Test" feature recognises AIS messages, nothing appears in the interface screen/map. As far as por 40004 is concerned, I could not generate any output. Furthermore, the Network feature (even though "connected") gives a "Invalid/empty data received from server".

In a nutshell, nothing seems to work...

Anyone has gone through similar problems?

Thanks

Joao

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4218
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: Problems with Shiptrax Sw
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2012, 07:55:47 pm »
The software is buggy and very slow
Any bugs you can detail specifically?  I thought we'd caught most of them in beta testing, but maybe not.  When you say slow, is that with the map display, or the 3D view?

Even though the HW lights blink, and the "Test" feature recognises AIS messages, nothing appears in the interface screen/map. As far as por 40004 is concerned, I could not generate any output.
How are you connecting - USB or network?  Do you have the appropriate box ticked to process the input ("Receive Serial Port Data" or "Receive TCP/IP Data")?  How close are you to the ships?

Have you ticked the "Share data on port 40004" box in Preferences?  What software are you using to read port 40004?

Furthermore, the Network feature (even though "connected") gives a "Invalid/empty data received from server".
Network seems to be working okay for me at the moment.  Maybe a problem with your network account - best to contact support directly.

What version number is displayed in the Window title bar - 1.28?
« Last Edit: July 29, 2012, 07:58:12 pm by tarbat »

jfnleal

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Problems with Shiptrax Sw
« Reply #2 on: July 29, 2012, 08:13:50 pm »
The software does not always (nor usually) respond to commands. A simple task such as "close" does not happen. It is necessary to Kill to Program with Task Manager.

As far as the other problems are concerned:

* I get the 3 "green squares" in shiptrax (Hw connected; TCP/IP Connected and Netword)
* As far as network is concerned I get "Invalid/Empty data received from server
* Hardware lights blink (Signal and USB) and Power (green light) is always on
* No ships are visible in the interface

In the Tools Menu, under "Connect to Serial…" the Test feature provides incoming Messages that seem to show the HW is working properly ("!AIVDM1,1,…")

I have ticked the "Share data on port 40004" box in Preferences and tried to scan it throgh telnet and ShipTrax Monitor (from Christopher Gray). Nothing happens...

I am connected by USB (though I can also connect via TCP/IP (at least I get the green square and the "connected" status).

Thanks

Joao

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4218
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: Problems with Shiptrax Sw
« Reply #3 on: July 29, 2012, 08:24:23 pm »
I'm running out of ideas here, but try running with the network unticked.  And run in 2D mode first.  And make sure you've turned off any filters.   Also note that only If you connect via. USB will you get anything on port 40004.

AirNav Support

  • AirNav Systems
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4086
Re: Problems with Shiptrax Sw
« Reply #4 on: July 29, 2012, 08:29:25 pm »
jfnleal,

Are you running this in a VM? and can you confirm ShipTrax is connected directly to your machine via USB not by any extenders.

jfnleal

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Problems with Shiptrax Sw
« Reply #5 on: July 29, 2012, 08:40:17 pm »
Hello,

I am running it directly to the PC (no VMs or extenders).

jfnleal

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Problems with Shiptrax Sw
« Reply #6 on: July 29, 2012, 09:16:29 pm »
Using "netstat -no" (and then checking the corresponding PID in task Manager) it is possible to understand that Shiptrax is using  Port 10110 and IP 192.168.1.205, once these appear as "Established". However, nothing happens on the interface & map...
 

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4218
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: Problems with Shiptrax Sw
« Reply #7 on: July 29, 2012, 09:38:36 pm »
Okay, if you're connecting via tcp/ip, you could try closing down Shiptrax, and then connecting with telnet and see if the receiver is sending data okay

Telnet 192.168.1.205 10110

If you're still having problems tomorrow, and if you've got teamviewer installed, I could connect remotely and see if I can diagnose what's going wrong.
« Last Edit: July 29, 2012, 09:42:18 pm by tarbat »

jfnleal

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Problems with Shiptrax Sw
« Reply #8 on: July 29, 2012, 10:19:57 pm »
Thank you for your help.
Indeed I have Teamviewer. I am located in Lisbon (Portugal) - Please let me know what time is convenient (joao.leal@valueinc.pt)


tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4218
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: Problems with Shiptrax Sw
« Reply #9 on: July 30, 2012, 10:19:28 am »
Okay, following several Teamviewer sessions, there's definately a problem I can't solve.  Airnav Support, what could cause not being able to save Preferences?  Clicking on OK doesn't work.  Maybe portugese characters in name, or "," in home location coords?

What I've done so far is:
- Suggest run as Administrator
- Re-install at C:\Airnav
- Suggest leaving the network OFF until you get it working with the hardware receiver.

Support, do you have Teamviewer?  In which case, you could try connecting to fix this.  I'm off out, to see the Queen Elizabeth in port at Invergordon!!
« Last Edit: July 30, 2012, 10:27:27 am by tarbat »

jfnleal

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Problems with Shiptrax Sw
« Reply #10 on: July 30, 2012, 08:23:35 pm »
I am having difficulties with having consistent support from Airnav. Is there a way I can really have assistance on this subject (remote, or other)?

The fact that I can only install the software in a single machine doesn't help much either. Is this a machine problem? Is this a software problem? At this pace it will be very hard to know.

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4218
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: Problems with Shiptrax Sw
« Reply #11 on: July 31, 2012, 06:47:00 am »
My guess is that there's something invalid in one of the tabs in Preferences.  I'm not sure how ShipTrax handles Portuguese characters, or the "," in your home location co-ordinates.  I suggest you go through your Preferences and check for any other errors.

If you're still stuck, drop me another email and I'll take another look through teamviewer.  But this time I may need access to a DOS command prompt and maybe Regedit.

Although I'd prefer that AirNav do this, as I'm working in the dark on this problem.
« Last Edit: July 31, 2012, 07:16:27 am by tarbat »

AirNav Support

  • AirNav Systems
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4086
Re: Problems with Shiptrax Sw
« Reply #12 on: July 31, 2012, 07:28:23 am »
We have been in contact from Sunday with him to try and find the cause, however we don't do remote connections to customers pcs yet. We prefer not to make a one off as we will be asked by everyone if we do.

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4218
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: Problems with Shiptrax Sw
« Reply #13 on: July 31, 2012, 01:45:28 pm »
Fixed.  Caused by using "," as the decimal separator in Windows Regional Settings.  Replaced with ".".

Airnav, you may want to fix that in the code, or advise users of this problem.  You owe me one!!

Looks like good coverage

« Last Edit: July 31, 2012, 02:02:25 pm by tarbat »

AirNav Support

  • AirNav Systems
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4086
Re: Problems with Shiptrax Sw
« Reply #14 on: July 31, 2012, 02:10:29 pm »
Thanks Tarbat!