anything
1-800-401-2474 | support@airnavsystems.com
Forum| About| Support| Contact
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 


Author Topic: Damage from nearby transmitter?  (Read 4254 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

ww7y

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Damage from nearby transmitter?
« on: January 02, 2010, 04:37:20 PM »
Anyone damage their RB by using a nearby transmitter i.e. ham radio at 100 Watts within feet of your outside antenna?  Anyone doing this without problems?

Thanks,
Steve - WW7Y

Jeremy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 369
  • Jeremy
Re: Damage from nearby transmitter?
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2010, 04:43:21 PM »
Yes. No Probs.
J.
G4DOQ
G4DOQ
QRZ.com

Dean

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
  • Plane photographer
Re: Damage from nearby transmitter?
« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2010, 05:18:19 PM »
Yes & No.

My 40m dipole is next to my Airnav antenna - anything above 40 watts temporarily kills off the Radarbox and I need to reset by USB out/in cycling. No damage has been caused.

All other Amateur Fq's cause me no problems.

Dean G8YTC

cq59

  • Guest
Re: Damage from nearby transmitter?
« Reply #3 on: January 02, 2010, 05:25:59 PM »
No probs using Icom 746 de G3INQ

Jeremy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 369
  • Jeremy
Re: Damage from nearby transmitter?
« Reply #4 on: January 02, 2010, 06:21:43 PM »
Yes. No Probs.
J.
G4DOQ
and at 400 w, no probs.
It will no doubt depend on how much RF you have in the shack!
J.
G4DOQ
QRZ.com

charlie

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 129
Re: Damage from nearby transmitter?
« Reply #5 on: January 02, 2010, 07:31:18 PM »
Again YES and NO

When I tune my FT450 on 15m (using 35 watts on data psk or rrty) it wipes out my Navbox.

I don't use 15m that often so not a problem.

All other bands and modes no problem.

I have my Navbox and radio shack in VERY Close together (a matter of feet).

When using Voice (max 50watts) on 20,40,80 metres NO problems at all.

Charlie
2E0VDS

Jeremy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 369
  • Jeremy
Re: Damage from nearby transmitter?
« Reply #6 on: January 02, 2010, 08:01:51 PM »
again - an RF problem. Make sure the USB lead is a good quality screened one. That made all the difference for me.
J.
G4DOQ
QRZ.com

ww7y

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Damage from nearby transmitter?
« Reply #7 on: January 03, 2010, 02:03:20 AM »
Excellent info,  I was just afraid of frying the front end on the RB and having to send it all the way to the UK for repair.

Thanks,
Steve - WW7Y

BobR

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 93
Re: Damage from nearby transmitter?
« Reply #8 on: January 03, 2010, 03:16:08 PM »
I have experienced some loss of contacts on the RB when using my HF on 20m, but I think it all depends on your setup in the shack as most people have commented on. Main thing is that I have not damaged the black box!

All the best,

Bob R

(M6KLO)

Fenris

  • Guest
Re: Damage from nearby transmitter?
« Reply #9 on: January 03, 2010, 05:15:22 PM »
But then, as an M6 you'd only be transmitting 10 watts Bob wouldn't you?

BobR

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 93
Re: Damage from nearby transmitter?
« Reply #10 on: January 06, 2010, 10:44:52 AM »
But then, as an M6 you'd only be transmitting 10 watts Bob wouldn't you?


Yes I am pumping out a huge 10w (often less). I have seen some drop outs if I am transmitting for any length of time such as when I am using the BPSK modes etc. I think as I progress through the licences I will probably turn off the RB when on higher power just to be on the safe side.

Incidently its interesting to see how many people who are using RB are also licensed.

Cheers,

Bob

Jeremy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 369
  • Jeremy
Re: Damage from nearby transmitter?
« Reply #11 on: January 06, 2010, 11:29:40 AM »
You will be better off sorting out the RF problems. If you are suffering at 10w then you will have big problems at a higher power and I would suggest you have a high SWR somewhere.
J.
G4DOQ
QRZ.com

radarspotter10

  • Guest
Re: Damage from nearby transmitter?
« Reply #12 on: January 06, 2010, 11:34:19 AM »
Anyone damage their RB by using a nearby transmitter i.e. ham radio at 100 Watts within feet of your outside antenna?  Anyone doing this without problems?

Thanks,
Steve - WW7Y
No problems here i am using yaesu ft100d and a few 2meters 70cm handhelds
G5RV 100 watts.

radarspotter10

  • Guest
Re: Damage from nearby transmitter?
« Reply #13 on: January 06, 2010, 11:46:35 AM »
But then, as an M6 you'd only be transmitting 10 watts Bob wouldn't you?

hi Fenris
I have a saying in my life, "if its illegal you must be enjoying it"  goes back to my CB days when CB was illegal the world over.
The problem is nobody will go near a m3/m6 unless there causing interference, same as radio scanners at the airports there illegal but cause no interference.

from pat
« Last Edit: January 06, 2010, 12:26:26 PM by radarspotter10 »

 

SMF spam blocked by CleanTalk