anything
1-800-401-2474 | support@airnavsystems.com
Forum| About| Support| Contact
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 


Author Topic: AirNav ShipTrax - Something Totally New  (Read 37378 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

AirNav Development

  • AirNav Systems
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2545
    • AirNav Systems
AirNav ShipTrax - Something Totally New
« on: November 29, 2007, 12:26:59 am »
We are in the final stages of the development of "AirNav ShipTrax". It is a completely new application from AirNav Systems which marks our entrance into the Marine market.

Instead of ADS-B signals (as with RadarBox) it receives AIS signals (ship auto position messages). It includes an worldwide ship location network and a database with over 120 thousand ship details.

The application is very similar to AirNav RadarBox 2007 with the already well known superior interface.

First Public Screen Shot is below.
Hope you enjoy it. We are totally open for any possible suggestions.


[attachment deleted by admin]
« Last Edit: December 05, 2007, 08:49:54 am by AirNav Support »

Peter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
Re: AirNav ShipTrax - Something Totally New
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2007, 08:10:06 am »
Does this include an AIS type receiver in the package? Many of us who use a similar programme from another source already have our own dedicated AIS receivers.
It sounds fantastic if the software package can be purchased on its own!
Although I may be sited 15 miles inland I get good coverage of Harwich and its approaches so if you require any Beta testers in the field, my set up will stretch it as it did with RB!

Peter

Peter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
Re: AirNav ShipTrax - Something Totally New
« Reply #2 on: November 29, 2007, 09:49:11 pm »
I would like to be able to import my own maps and delete your charts if you are going to use the "approximate" map as in RB. It would be very unrealistic for ships to sail over dry land on harbour approaches which I'm sure will happen if the RB type of connected straight line drawing was used. A link to Earth Browser would be a great help.

Peter

AirNav Development

  • AirNav Systems
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2545
    • AirNav Systems
Re: AirNav ShipTrax - Something Totally New
« Reply #3 on: November 29, 2007, 11:22:25 pm »
We confim that AirNav ShipTrax is the software only. It is already compatible with NASA Marine AIS or any other NMEA output device. You can even opt to receive data from a TCP/IP connection. So the answer is that the user may opt to buy the software only or the software+hardware if needed.

Regarding maps adding previously created: we have sent a personal message to Peter and waiting for a reply. More suggestions are welcome.

DaveG

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 543
Re: AirNav ShipTrax - Something Totally New
« Reply #4 on: November 30, 2007, 09:00:16 am »
very interesting, have tried other ship tracking software but did not get along with it at the time.  Can you clarify when you say "receive data from a tcp/ip connection" does this mean from your own hardware or a network system that will be available if you have no hardware?
Cornwall, UK

Roadrunner

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 600
  • Aviation enthusiast since school visit to Heathrow
Re: AirNav ShipTrax - Something Totally New
« Reply #5 on: December 01, 2007, 08:00:51 pm »
I live too far from the sea to make any use of an AIS engine to pick up my own data but I would be interested in a program only set up using the internet.

AirNav Would it be a one-off payment or a yearly subscription, which you seem to favour with the aviation products?

AirNav Support

  • AirNav Systems
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4086
Re: AirNav ShipTrax - Something Totally New
« Reply #6 on: December 01, 2007, 10:32:06 pm »
Not confirmed yet, when it is the price details will be announced.

Allocator

  • RadarBox24.com Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3544
Re: AirNav ShipTrax - Something Totally New
« Reply #7 on: December 05, 2007, 10:36:13 am »
Like RoadRunner, I live too far from the sea to pick up live AIS signals, but I do want to be able to use ShipTrax so I hope that there is a network only option that works for me.

CanadaKen

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 64
Re: AirNav ShipTrax - Something Totally New
« Reply #8 on: December 06, 2007, 12:13:18 am »
I think the cheapest way to go would be one of the "software radios" like the
ICOMs. I believe they all have IF/discriminator access.

Any other radio ideas to get into ShipTrax fairly cheaply?

CK
Monitoring on Canada's "Left" coast

Allocator

  • RadarBox24.com Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3544
Re: AirNav ShipTrax - Something Totally New
« Reply #9 on: December 06, 2007, 08:49:58 am »
I think the cheapest way to go would be one of the "software radios" like the
ICOMs. I believe they all have IF/discriminator access.

Any other radio ideas to get into ShipTrax fairly cheaply?

CK


The NASA AIS engine seems to be fairly popular here in the UK.  I haven't actually got one, as I won't be able to pick up the transmissions from home.  However, it is cheap enough for me to "have in" just in case I drive to the coast for the day.  As I mentioned earlier, I'd like to try ShipTrax with Network only data if I can, then get the AIS engine later.

http://www.allgadgets.co.uk/ag/product.asp?pf_id=AG3933&dept_id=1

http://www.nasamarine.com/AIS/AISENGINE.html

There are some more here too, but no prices.

http://www.katas.co.uk/


« Last Edit: December 06, 2007, 08:53:13 am by Allocator »

CanadaKen

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 64
Re: AirNav ShipTrax - Something Totally New
« Reply #10 on: December 20, 2007, 03:41:16 pm »
With the AISEngine module I take it you only need the GPS input if you want to plot your own location?

CK
Monitoring on Canada's "Left" coast

Allocator

  • RadarBox24.com Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3544
Re: AirNav ShipTrax - Something Totally New
« Reply #11 on: December 20, 2007, 04:45:02 pm »
With the AISEngine module I take it you only need the GPS input if you want to plot your own location?

CK


Yes, there is software you can use at sea as a sort of "radar" to help with the visual lookout.  I've just received the NASA AIS engine with some trial software, but I'll have to take a trip to the coast to try it out!

CanadaKen

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 64
Re: AirNav ShipTrax - Something Totally New
« Reply #12 on: December 20, 2007, 07:15:24 pm »
With the Canadian dollar up so high that price of 97 without vat is attractive.
Especially a 2 channel engine like that. And I live in a port city, Vancouver.
I have line of sight to the Straight of Georgia where the vast majority of shipping arrives in this area.

CK
Monitoring on Canada's "Left" coast

AirNav Development

  • AirNav Systems
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2545
    • AirNav Systems
Re: AirNav ShipTrax - Something Totally New
« Reply #13 on: December 20, 2007, 08:50:15 pm »
CanadaKen: that is great news. Do you already have an AIS receiver like NASA AIS Engine?

CanadaKen

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 64
Re: AirNav ShipTrax - Something Totally New
« Reply #14 on: December 21, 2007, 02:30:07 am »
No, AND, I don't....this would be my first. It was either that or one of the USB
radios with the IF output. If that AISENGINE is 2 channel that's a real bonus.

CK
Monitoring on Canada's "Left" coast