anything
1-800-401-2474 | support@airnavsystems.com
Forum| About| Support| Contact
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 


Author Topic: acars  (Read 15477 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

oldun666

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 72
acars
« on: August 27, 2009, 10:13:53 pm »
hi folk's being new to the rb, could anybody tell me what i have to do to recieve acars, i have the lead from comp to scanner and someone told me to d/load www.zorg.org which i have and downloaded the preface but when i click on monitor  acars or pager, nothing happens do i need anything else ie software could somebody please tell me  what to do in simple terms that a 62 yr old brain can understand,  thank's all    jeff. 

John Racars

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 801
Re: acars
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2009, 07:24:48 am »
could anybody tell me what i have to do to recieve acars

Hi Jeff,

1. you should install ACARS-decoding software on your PC;
2. you should connect a scanner on an (outside) antenna and your PC;
3. make sure that software and scanner work together;
4. you should tune your scanner on one of (or all) frequencies mentioned in my signature below (when you are situated in Europe)

If you did as I described above you should recieve ACARS.

Hope this helps.
« Last Edit: August 28, 2009, 08:03:57 am by John Racars »
Best Regards from the Netherlands, John Racars
13 NM East of EHAM
-
ANRB:
Version: 3D - 5.00.072
Antenna: outside WiMo GP-1090 (with ECOFLEX 10 cableconnection)
PC: Windows 7 SP 1 - 64 bit
-
RadarBox24 station: EHAM4

nortonbeak

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 317
  • RadarBox MVT7100 PCR1000 M0NBK
Re: acars
« Reply #2 on: August 28, 2009, 07:53:21 am »
There have been a number of free programs available to decode ACARS available on t'net. The sites seem to have slowly disappeared.
The only one I can readily find is for ACARSD and is

http://www.acarsd.org/download.html

Of course, AirNav have their own ACARS decoding program and details are at

http://www.airnavsystems.com/ACARS/index.html

Jeremy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 369
  • Jeremy
Re: acars
« Reply #3 on: August 28, 2009, 09:08:39 am »
Is that ACARS data translated into an aircraft position on the RB screen or does it remain as strings of data?
J.
G4DOQ
QRZ.com

John Racars

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 801
Re: acars
« Reply #4 on: August 28, 2009, 09:46:46 am »
Is that ACARS data translated into an aircraft position on the RB screen

Hi Jeremy,

No that is not. ACARS is a way of communication between an aircraft and ground. It will be used for sending all kind of reports and messages like weatherinformation, clearances, failures/defects, flightplans, engineeringdata etc.

Below an ACARS-massage showing the next waypoint in the flightplan of this a/c that is actually enroute from Manchester to Doha in Dutch airspace:

ACARS mode: E  Aircraft reg: .A7-ACH [A332]
Message label: 16  Block id: 7  Msg. no: M57A
Flight id: QR0042 [EGCC-OTBD]
Message content:-
ARNEM  ,N 52.366,E  4.488,35793,271
-------------------------------------[28-08-2009 11:43]

« Last Edit: August 28, 2009, 09:50:34 am by John Racars »
Best Regards from the Netherlands, John Racars
13 NM East of EHAM
-
ANRB:
Version: 3D - 5.00.072
Antenna: outside WiMo GP-1090 (with ECOFLEX 10 cableconnection)
PC: Windows 7 SP 1 - 64 bit
-
RadarBox24 station: EHAM4

pjm

  • RadarBox Beta Testers
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 477
Re: acars
« Reply #5 on: August 28, 2009, 09:50:27 am »
Below an ACARS-massage showing the next waypoint in the flightplan of this a/c:

What does this one mean?

ACARS mode: S  Aircraft reg: VH-EBE  [ ]
 Message label: 87 [Aircrew addressed downlink]  Block id: 7  Msg no: M37A
 Flight id: JQ0037  [SYD-DPS]  [JetStar Airways]
 Message content:-
 JST37 OUT 0741 OFF 0759
ETA 1405. DElAY DUE NOTUG DRIVER
 ----------------------------------------------------------[ 28/08/2009 18:08 ]

John Racars

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 801
Re: acars
« Reply #6 on: August 28, 2009, 10:09:36 am »
Aircraft has delay due to "NOTUG DRIVER". Sorry, I do not know yet what that means...
Best Regards from the Netherlands, John Racars
13 NM East of EHAM
-
ANRB:
Version: 3D - 5.00.072
Antenna: outside WiMo GP-1090 (with ECOFLEX 10 cableconnection)
PC: Windows 7 SP 1 - 64 bit
-
RadarBox24 station: EHAM4

RodBearden

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7358
    • Rod's RadarBox Downloads
Re: acars
« Reply #7 on: August 28, 2009, 11:38:30 am »
I presume it means that they can't get a pushback from the stand because the tug driver hasn't turned up. Bet they wish they were a turboprop with reverse pitch!

Rod
Rod

John Racars

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 801
Re: acars
« Reply #8 on: August 28, 2009, 11:42:56 am »
I presume it means that they can't get a pushback from the stand because the tug driver hasn't turned up.

Hi Rod, thank you!

Sounds verry plausible to me.
Best Regards from the Netherlands, John Racars
13 NM East of EHAM
-
ANRB:
Version: 3D - 5.00.072
Antenna: outside WiMo GP-1090 (with ECOFLEX 10 cableconnection)
PC: Windows 7 SP 1 - 64 bit
-
RadarBox24 station: EHAM4

oldun666

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 72
Re: acars
« Reply #9 on: August 28, 2009, 10:02:13 pm »
thanks for the info folks ive tried to d/load acars etc but to no avail my comp dosn't want to play, must be vista playing up.

nortonbeak

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 317
  • RadarBox MVT7100 PCR1000 M0NBK
Re: acars
« Reply #10 on: August 29, 2009, 07:54:46 am »
thanks for the info folks ive tried to d/load acars etc but to no avail

Which version of ACARS have you tried?

oldun666

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 72
Re: acars
« Reply #11 on: August 29, 2009, 11:38:01 am »
hi there the one somebody told me about and which ive tried is www.nathan.chantrell.net  thanks jeff

DougV

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 38
Re: acars
« Reply #12 on: August 29, 2009, 12:03:48 pm »
Hi Jeff.

I used the old WACARS programme a long time ago and it worked fairly well.
You can still get it from here but I don't think it is supported any more.

It may be OK for you as a start.

Doug
G4SEQ

Located 10NM South of EGNM

John Racars

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 801
Re: acars
« Reply #13 on: August 29, 2009, 12:40:22 pm »
but I don't think it is supported any more.

It was never...........

But with me it was always working OK as I can remember. I am not sure this software works together with the PC soundcard; if that is not so indeed, the use of an ACARS-decoder (p.e. Lowe Electronics) is necessary!
Best Regards from the Netherlands, John Racars
13 NM East of EHAM
-
ANRB:
Version: 3D - 5.00.072
Antenna: outside WiMo GP-1090 (with ECOFLEX 10 cableconnection)
PC: Windows 7 SP 1 - 64 bit
-
RadarBox24 station: EHAM4

DougV

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 38
Re: acars
« Reply #14 on: August 29, 2009, 12:46:50 pm »
Yes it does work with sound card input.
Not the best prog in the world but functional.

I have also used ACARSD and AirNav's too.
Just getting back into things after some time concentrating on other things.

:)
G4SEQ

Located 10NM South of EGNM