anything
1-800-401-2474 | support@airnavsystems.com
Forum| About| Support| Contact
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 


Author Topic: I have a airband scanner, will my RB Antenna work with the scanner?  (Read 3659 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Johnn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 203
  • Y'ello
I have a 1090mhz Radar 100.
Does the airband go on 1090mhz?
Thanks John
Johnn -

Allocator

  • RadarBox24.com Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3544
Re: I have a airband scanner, will my RB Antenna work with the scanner?
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2009, 09:09:20 am »
John,

An antenna made for 1090MHz will pick up VHF and UHF aircraft transmissions, but not very well!

VHF is around 118-136 MHz and UHF 250-400 MHz, so nowhere near the 1090 MHz of your antenna.

Johnn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 203
  • Y'ello
Re: I have a airband scanner, will my RB Antenna work with the scanner?
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2009, 12:48:32 pm »
Okay Thanks!
Johnn -

CoastGuardJon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1176
  • Mullion Cove, Kernow --- sw Cornwall UK.
Re: I have a airband scanner, will my RB Antenna work with the scanner?
« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2009, 05:22:16 pm »
Hi Johnn, it'll probably work quite satisfactorily within a 10 - 20 mile radius, but not quite as well as a correctly cut airband antenna.   I've alwys found, it's using the twig for transmitting, when the SWR becomes really important - suck it and see! and let us know how you get on.  I'm going to try a variety of antennas with my very newly acquired Spectrum Scout.
ANRB :  AOR AR8000 : Icom R-7000 : Icom IC-R9000 : JRC NRD-545 : OptoElectronics Digital Scout and OptoLinx Interface; Realistic Pro-2005 : UBC 800XLT - listed in alphabetical order, not cost, preference, performance or entertainment value!

Blackthorn

  • Guest
Re: I have a airband scanner, will my RB Antenna work with the scanner?
« Reply #4 on: March 31, 2009, 08:30:46 am »
Hi John

I moved my office around a couple of weeks ago and wondered why performance was well down on my Radarbox and my scanner. Later I realised that when I reconnected the antennas I got them the wrong way around and it was very noticable on my scanner.