1-800-401-2474 | support@airnavsystems.com
Forum| About| Support| Contact
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
 


Author Topic: Radarbox crashes after a while  (Read 6822 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

golden417

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Radarbox crashes after a while
« on: December 12, 2008, 06:41:31 pm »
I am running ANRB20 on a Vista machine.  When I start up Radarbox, it works as expected.  However, between 8 and 12 hours later, it crashes.  It normally crashes with no error message, I just get a 'Application is not responding'.

I can just restart the application, but I'd rather just leave it running.

Is anyone else experiencing this?

Are there any logs that I can forward to the developers to help diagnose this issue?

Allocator

  • RadarBox24.com Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
Re: Radarbox crashes after a while
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2008, 06:53:41 pm »
Just confirm the version of RadarBox you are using - Do you see AirNav RadarBox 2009 at the top left of the window?

golden417

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Radarbox crashes after a while
« Reply #2 on: December 13, 2008, 05:50:22 am »
Yes, indeed it does.

9M-ISJ

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
Re: Radarbox crashes after a while
« Reply #3 on: December 13, 2008, 06:59:55 am »
Hi

I leave mine on 24/7, and find after 3 or 4 days it tends to shut itself down totally.

Blackthorn

  • Guest
Re: Radarbox crashes after a while
« Reply #4 on: December 13, 2008, 09:31:09 am »
I wonder if this is related to the menu freeze issue reported in another thread.

Airnav - are you investigating this?

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4218
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: Radarbox crashes after a while
« Reply #5 on: December 13, 2008, 09:53:19 am »
I wonder if this is related to the menu freeze issue reported in another thread.

Airnav - are you investigating this?
It's logged in their bug tracking system, so I'm sure they've investigating it.
« Last Edit: December 13, 2008, 10:19:14 am by tarbat »

Allocator

  • RadarBox24.com Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
Re: Radarbox crashes after a while
« Reply #6 on: December 13, 2008, 09:54:03 am »
I wonder if this is related to the menu freeze issue reported in another thread.

Airnav - are you investigating this?

The thing is, unless it happens to everybody - and I've never had this problem - how do you go about fixing it.  If you can reproduce the problem or work out exactly how/when it happening and all the other factors, then you will give AirNav a fighting chance of explaining what might be happening.

Blackthorn

  • Guest
Re: Radarbox crashes after a while
« Reply #7 on: December 13, 2008, 09:59:53 am »
I appreciate the problem Allocator and I am happy to live with it. In my case the program menus seem to stop responding after it has been running over 4 hours. I have tried the radarbox on two Dell XPS420 PC's and that makes no difference.

What I am doing today is running radarbox on one of my systems with no other software running and the power options switched off so nothing should conflict with the program.

PS I am a happy Radarbox user and work on computer systems so know how unreliable software can be :-)
« Last Edit: December 13, 2008, 10:02:29 am by Blackthorn »

Allocator

  • RadarBox24.com Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
Re: Radarbox crashes after a while
« Reply #8 on: December 13, 2008, 10:24:05 am »
Normally I can get to the bottom of these problems if I can reproduce them.  Like with any software, we all use the programs in a different way and a certain sequence can trigger things that you just haven't seen before.  Having been involved in beta testing for a number of years, I delight in catching out programmers by doing something odd with the software :-)

"What happens if I press this button then that one?"

"Aggghhhh!"

OK, off to buy a Christmas Tree - see you all later!
« Last Edit: December 13, 2008, 10:25:57 am by Allocator »

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4218
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: Radarbox crashes after a while
« Reply #9 on: December 13, 2008, 10:31:56 am »
Allocator, I used to hate testers like you until I myself became a user testing manager!!  Then I'd seek out people like you for testing.  Unfortunately the developers are often least likely to do the unexpected when testing, because they know how the software should respond.  Thankfully Airnav have a good relationship with a number of beta testers (unlike the others!!) who can push the software to do the unexpected.
« Last Edit: December 13, 2008, 10:34:21 am by tarbat »

Blackthorn

  • Guest
Re: Radarbox crashes after a while
« Reply #10 on: December 13, 2008, 10:35:40 am »
Normally I can get to the bottom of these problems if I can reproduce them. 


Well if you think I am giving you one of my Dell XPS420's think again ;-)

viking9

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 823
    • Aircraft Photography
Re: Radarbox crashes after a while
« Reply #11 on: December 13, 2008, 10:50:09 am »


Well if you think I am giving you one of my Dell XPS420's think again ;-)

Kevin,

Would that be because it was voted "one of the best looking PCs of all time". :-0)

Tom
Tom
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk UK
15 miles SE of EGUN
32 miles SE of MAM > DIKAS track
http://www.viking9.co.uk

Blackthorn

  • Guest
Re: Radarbox crashes after a while
« Reply #12 on: December 13, 2008, 10:54:08 am »


Kevin,

Would that be because it was voted "one of the best looking PCs of all time". :-0)

Tom

No Tom, its because I got them cheap :-)

Blackthorn

  • Guest
Re: Radarbox crashes after a while
« Reply #13 on: December 13, 2008, 05:44:03 pm »
Well after 6 hours the menus froze but the program keeps plotting data. I need to crash the program to close it.

nbquidditch

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 115
    • Narrowboat Quidditch
Re: Radarbox crashes after a while
« Reply #14 on: December 14, 2008, 05:41:40 pm »
I have a theory on RB not responding! I had the problem shortly after purchasing my RB and changed my USB cable from the one supplied. I haven't had a problem since and I'm running on Vista 24/7.
I've suggested doing this twice now to other users on this forum with similar problems & both were cured!! That makes 3 of us now.
As I say just a theory but maybe the USB cable breaks down for some reason over a usage period? Why not try this guys & report back on the outcome I'd be interested to see. I just stole the one off my digi camera.


Cheers :)