1-800-401-2474 | support@airnavsystems.com
Forum| About| Support| Contact
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 


Author Topic: "File" menu options not available  (Read 20298 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

freqhopping

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 132
"File" menu options not available
« on: December 10, 2008, 10:36:49 pm »
I want to open the File menu to access the preferences or exit the program but it won't open.  I don't have any problem opening Filters, Map, Tools, etc.  I'm currently using the 2009 software.  This issue started last night.  It was working fine for several days before.

Allocator

  • RadarBox24.com Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3544
Re: "File" menu options not available
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2008, 10:57:15 pm »
No idea what might be the problem here.

Is RadarBox running OK when you start it apart from this?

Are you running Vista or XP?

Are you running RB with an Internet connection?

freqhopping

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 132
Re: "File" menu options not available
« Reply #2 on: December 10, 2008, 11:15:37 pm »
It runs just fine otherwise.  I'm running XP.  I have a cable internet connection. 

Allocator

  • RadarBox24.com Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3544
Re: "File" menu options not available
« Reply #3 on: December 10, 2008, 11:20:19 pm »
Can you actually see the File menu option, or is it off the screen?

Can you open the File menu by using the ALT and F keys?

Can you shut down RadarBox by using the red X in the top right of the RB window?

« Last Edit: December 10, 2008, 11:23:22 pm by Allocator »

freqhopping

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 132
Re: "File" menu options not available
« Reply #4 on: December 10, 2008, 11:32:50 pm »
It's there and acts like a button but nothing happens when I click it.

Using the keys doesn't work either.

I have to use the X to close it.


Well, I just closed and restarted it again, and everything is working the way it is supposed to for now.  ???  I'll just have to see what happens when I shut it down later after running for a while.


Blackthorn

  • Guest
Re: "File" menu options not available
« Reply #5 on: December 11, 2008, 07:31:49 am »
I have experienced the same issue on a couple of occaisions, radar box receives normally and the map displays okay but the drop down menu's don't allow you to select an item.

When this happens I have needed to close the program by clicking the x in the corner and restart.


Deadcalm

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 381
Re: "File" menu options not available
« Reply #6 on: December 11, 2008, 11:38:55 am »
Sounds very similar to the problems one or two of us have experienced for months - slow or non-responsive menu items.   There has been some dialogue with support about this, and I have tried one or two alternative executables that they provided.  It has been a little better lately (mainly because once started, I tend to leave the programme alone), but I still get times when the menus don't appear to work and I end up restarting.  I suppose I've just learned to live with it.

DC
Go around, I say again go around...

Blackthorn

  • Guest
Re: "File" menu options not available
« Reply #7 on: December 11, 2008, 11:54:42 am »
Are Airnav looking in to this issue?

Deadcalm

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 381
Re: "File" menu options not available
« Reply #8 on: December 11, 2008, 01:25:06 pm »
Well, sort of.  They have said that it is "rare, and affects very few users, mainly those with high-spec machines".  The last I heard from support was on the 2nd October, so I don't really know if they're still working on it, or have given up.

DC
Go around, I say again go around...

Blackthorn

  • Guest
Re: "File" menu options not available
« Reply #9 on: December 11, 2008, 01:34:46 pm »
Thanks for the feedback DC.

Blackthorn

  • Guest
Re: "File" menu options not available
« Reply #10 on: December 12, 2008, 09:22:16 pm »
The frozen menus has happened to me twice today when trying to close down Airnav after running it for over 4 hours each time, could it be related to the amount of data processed?

I don't like having to crash the program to exit it.

9M-ISJ

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
Re: "File" menu options not available
« Reply #11 on: December 13, 2008, 07:06:35 am »
I get this too..... sometimes they take an age to respond but most of the time they dont respond at all.

Normally only happens after a few hours of starting

Blackthorn

  • Guest
Re: "File" menu options not available
« Reply #12 on: December 13, 2008, 09:27:48 am »
It is reassuring others have the same issue ;-)

I think you are correct the problem seems to occur after the program has been running for some time and as pointed out earlier on higher spec PC's.

Deadcalm

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 381
Re: "File" menu options not available
« Reply #13 on: December 13, 2008, 10:04:36 am »
There doesn't seem to be a response either way from Airnav...

DC
Go around, I say again go around...

dudbaker

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 166
Re: "File" menu options not available
« Reply #14 on: December 13, 2008, 01:10:31 pm »
Is AVG a common factor?
Dudley Baker
Stansted
G8THH
dudley.baker@ntlworld.com
Valiant, Victor, Shackelton, Canberra, VC10, Tornado Typhoon 737 747 A320 A300 Engineer.