anything
1-800-401-2474 | support@airnavsystems.com
Forum| About| Support| Contact
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 


Author Topic: Help with Flags  (Read 9884 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

abrad41

  • Guest
Help with Flags
« on: October 07, 2008, 10:45:03 AM »
Hi

How do you get flags to show - I have a Flybe flag in my folder, but its not showing in the list.

Any Ideas

Andy

nortonbeak

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 318
  • RadarBox MVT7100 PCR1000 M0NBK
Re: Help with Flags
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2008, 11:19:47 AM »
Do you mean the airline logo?

I get many Flybe flights in my MyFlights. Unfortunately, as Flybe flights do not display a callsign in MyFlights list then the software cannot decipher the airline and does not show the logo.

abrad41

  • Guest
Re: Help with Flags
« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2008, 11:26:28 AM »
ok

Thank you - I did mean airline logo sorry.

Shame the system works that way - must be a better way as the logo is in the folder.

Air Nav Support ---- Anyway of changing this please

Cheers

Allocator

  • RadarBox24.com Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
Re: Help with Flags
« Reply #3 on: October 07, 2008, 11:53:54 AM »
ok

Thank you - I did mean airline logo sorry.

Shame the system works that way - must be a better way as the logo is in the folder.

Air Nav Support ---- Anyway of changing this please

Cheers



The only other way to do this is to link the airline logo to a specific airframe rather than to the flight ID.  However, there is a significant disadvantage doing this.  We have already seen how difficult it is to keep the aircraft database up to date and adding another field to tie in the logo would only make this even more difficult.

RadarBox displays the operator of the aircraft rather than the airline the aircraft is registered to. This is of far more value, especially when aircraft are leased or loaned to another operator and providing the crew enter the flight ID correctly, then the logo is going to be 100% correct.  If the logo is based on the historical aircraft record in the RadarBox database, then there is a possibility that the data may not be up to date.

For example, This month's Airliner World magazine lists a new aircraft for British Airways, A320-232 G-EUUX.  This aircraft has only recently joined the British register and was F-WWDM.  Which logo would you want to see, the British Airways one, or the former owner?

There has been a suggestion on the forum that users are given the option to link the logo to the flight ID or the aircraft itself, but I'm not sure how much this would be used.

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: Help with Flags
« Reply #4 on: October 07, 2008, 12:32:18 PM »
Maybe when Airnav fix the bug in Radarbox that prevents Loganair flight IDs being displayed, Flybe flight IDs will also be displayed, and then we'll also see the Flybe company logo.

abrad41

  • Guest
Re: Help with Flags
« Reply #5 on: October 07, 2008, 01:43:53 PM »
Thanks Allocator

Thats explained it all to me very well and I understand.
As you now I am still new to the RD and finding all these things out

Cheers

Andy

Allocator

  • RadarBox24.com Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
Re: Help with Flags
« Reply #6 on: October 07, 2008, 03:07:51 PM »
Maybe when Airnav fix the bug in Radarbox that prevents Loganair flight IDs being displayed, Flybe flight IDs will also be displayed, and then we'll also see the Flybe company logo.

No, this isn't a bug - it's pre-programmed in to annoy those in the far outposts of civilisation :-)

Sorry Tarbat, a bit of a cheap shot there ....... I take it all back!



testmonkey

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 127
Re: Help with Flags
« Reply #7 on: October 08, 2008, 11:10:50 PM »
Well from the 26th of this month Loganair aircraft will be flying 55 routes in Flybe colours so that'll make things even better for Tarbat :)
testmonkey
--------------------------------------------
RB - MVT9000 - UBC30XLT (for acars)

MIKE.UTD

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 185
Re: Help with Flags
« Reply #8 on: October 10, 2008, 12:13:26 PM »
Hi,

Back to flags does anyone have flags for YU-  and 40-.

There was a problem with these and the Taiwan flag.

If you do can you please post with the link like somebody did with the Taiwan flag which I saved straight to my flags database.

Thanks again.

Mike.

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: Help with Flags
« Reply #9 on: October 11, 2008, 08:14:23 AM »
Well from the 26th of this month Loganair aircraft will be flying 55 routes in Flybe colours so that'll make things even better for Tarbat :)

Yes, I wonder whether they'll be using Flybe flightids from the 26th.  Of course, I'll not be able to tell because Radarbox doesn't display the flight ids for the Saab 340 aircraft :(

RodBearden

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7839
    • Rod's RadarBox Downloads
Re: Help with Flags
« Reply #10 on: October 12, 2008, 11:43:19 AM »
Here you go Mike:

YU - Serbia Flag
4O - Montenegro Flag

Rod
« Last Edit: October 12, 2008, 11:48:05 AM by RodBearden »
Rod

ACW367

  • Guest
Re: Help with Flags
« Reply #11 on: October 14, 2008, 07:21:34 PM »
Rod

Thank you for these new flags. I do not appear to have the associated tie up for the 4O code in the D008 dat file. Does anyone have this available.

RodBearden

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7839
    • Rod's RadarBox Downloads
Re: Help with Flags
« Reply #12 on: October 14, 2008, 08:59:56 PM »
I'm afraid I don't have the code that you need to add to the D0008.DAT file - we need the help of somebody more "techy" than me!

Allocator - are you there?

BTW note that the Montenegro code is 4-Oscar, not 4-zero.

Rod
« Last Edit: October 15, 2008, 02:22:17 PM by RodBearden »
Rod

Allocator

  • RadarBox24.com Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3568
Re: Help with Flags
« Reply #13 on: October 15, 2008, 07:52:43 AM »
I'm here!

But I don't have the laptop with me with my hints and tips I'm afraid.  I'm moving location with the day job this weekend, so my normal routine in a little disrupted at the moment!

I'm sure that tarbat can help here, as he's done a lot of work with the D008.dat file.  He's also produced an excellent xls spreadsheet for converting individual hex codes to the format needed by the dat file - this could be an option if there isn't a clear code block used by these aircraft.

tarbat

  • ShipTrax Beta Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4219
    • Radarbox at Easter Ross
Re: Help with Flags
« Reply #14 on: October 15, 2008, 08:08:33 AM »
Based on what's been discussed on the SBS-1 forums, I reckon you'll need this line in the D008.dat file for Montenegro:

4O,Montenegro,01010001011000----------

Now that the SBS-1 community have updated their countries.dat file as at 1st September, I'll have a go at building a new D008.dat file to match later today.

 

SMF spam blocked by CleanTalk