1-800-401-2474 | support@airnavsystems.com
Forum| About| Support| Contact
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 


Author Topic: Comstation: GPS and VHF not working  (Read 1037 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

ElectricCircus

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Comstation: GPS and VHF not working
« on: September 05, 2017, 08:10:53 pm »
Hi.

My Comstation unit is not receiving GPS nor VHF signals; I don´t know if this should be enabled or corrected someway, or if it is a normal behavior.

Thanks.


Runway 31

  • Database Updaters
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 24029
Re: Comstation: GPS and VHF not working
« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2017, 11:14:50 pm »
Hi Not receiving VHF is an issue being worked on for some time, hopefully they will have it working soon.

Not seeing GPS is an issue you may want to take up with support@airnavsystems.com advising of your problem and unit serial number

I am looking at your plots just now and you are getting reasonable coverage out to 195 Miles

Alan

RNAGG

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
    • RadarBox Brasil
Re: Comstation: GPS and VHF not working
« Reply #2 on: September 11, 2017, 10:47:19 pm »
How do I access this screen with this data?

neroon79

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4388
Re: Comstation: GPS and VHF not working
« Reply #3 on: September 12, 2017, 03:14:47 pm »
1. You must own a radarbox comstation.
2. you have to figure out its IP4 address in your LAN
3. enter that ip4 of your comstation in your browser e.g. 192.168.100.25

Ingo
« Last Edit: September 12, 2017, 03:16:18 pm by neroon79 »
Greetings from northern Germany, Ingo
11.75nm ESE of EDDV

SW: ANRB v5.00.072/6.00.000 on WIN10 64Bit Pro&Home
HW:
Antenna: outside WiMo GP-1090
AMP: Kuhne electronic KU LNA 1090 A TM
Cable: 20m of ECOFLEX 15+
Asus P53E (BIZ-Notebook) 24/7 op.
Quad Core PC with 26"+24" Screen

RNAGG

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
    • RadarBox Brasil
Re: Comstation: GPS and VHF not working
« Reply #4 on: September 12, 2017, 07:05:56 pm »
Thanks!!

aligassan

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Comstation: GPS and VHF not working
« Reply #5 on: September 25, 2017, 10:33:08 am »
its same problem withe me , the problem happening  after upgrade  the software of unit , i send email to support they say will fixed soon impossible

Glen

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Comstation: GPS and VHF not working
« Reply #6 on: October 01, 2017, 03:03:18 pm »
mine hasnt been sending vhf for almost 6 months ,
im also noticing its not reciving alot of planes as well , not sure if my unit is being ignored or other units are more sensitve now

Runway 31

  • Database Updaters
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 24029
Re: Comstation: GPS and VHF not working
« Reply #7 on: October 01, 2017, 04:52:44 pm »
Whats your serial Glen and I will see what its doing regarding receiving aircraft. A s per previous messages on the thread the VHF is offline

Alan

Glen

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Comstation: GPS and VHF not working
« Reply #8 on: October 12, 2017, 02:05:35 am »
found my unit had been offline ,, :P restart the router and away it goes,, oops
but the radio part is missed . is there a reason why some are not working and some are ?

neroon79

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4388
Re: Comstation: GPS and VHF not working
« Reply #9 on: October 12, 2017, 03:53:33 pm »
On some receivers the radio part is deactivated for legal reasons (redistribution of ATC comunication is strictly prohibited in some countries e.g. Germany). In many other cases it is deactivated as it caused severe problems with ADS-B reception and as far as I remember system stability. And last but not least in some cases it was reconfigurated for ACARS reception (in my case).

Ingo
Greetings from northern Germany, Ingo
11.75nm ESE of EDDV

SW: ANRB v5.00.072/6.00.000 on WIN10 64Bit Pro&Home
HW:
Antenna: outside WiMo GP-1090
AMP: Kuhne electronic KU LNA 1090 A TM
Cable: 20m of ECOFLEX 15+
Asus P53E (BIZ-Notebook) 24/7 op.
Quad Core PC with 26"+24" Screen

Glen

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Comstation: GPS and VHF not working
« Reply #10 on: October 12, 2017, 11:43:53 pm »
ok, Ontario has theirs working and mine in BC is not , so i dont know if its legal as far as Canada rules go.
but we shall see what happens soon . I was told originally that it was a server problem .

Runway 31

  • Database Updaters
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 24029
Re: Comstation: GPS and VHF not working
« Reply #11 on: October 13, 2017, 06:31:26 am »
Glen,

As stated by Ingo and also elsewhere in this and other threads VHF was not applied to any further units as it was causing problems with ADS-B coverage.  As ADS-B is the primary reason for receivers with VHF a nice to have add on the decision was taken to stop the VHF transmissions until a fix was found.  I believe that work is on going to re-instate VHF coverage and to give users control over the frequencies they cover but have no idea when that will be.

Alan

EK01

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4050
Re: Comstation: GPS and VHF not working
« Reply #12 on: October 13, 2017, 08:47:13 am »
Morning Alan,

I thought that this one had already been sorted but it has come on unpopulated : 345504
According to the Spanish register it is :

EC-MQV Bell 412EP c/n 36673. No owner given but presumably INAER/Babcock.

ENT508 : EHEH-LEAL No return flight showing on the boards).

Ian

Runway 31

  • Database Updaters
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 24029
Re: Comstation: GPS and VHF not working
« Reply #13 on: October 13, 2017, 09:00:58 am »
Morning Ian,

It was but it helps when I get the code right!!.

Note wrong thread

Alan

EK01

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4050
Re: Comstation: GPS and VHF not working
« Reply #14 on: October 13, 2017, 09:16:33 am »
Apologies, too early in the morning !

Ian